Thoughts on Life Stress

“The greatest weapon against stress is our ability to choose one thought over another.” – William James

mtlmug

When you’re young, adults spend a lot of time telling you not to rush your aging. Don’t be in a hurry to grow up, and don’t wish your time away. What they fail to mention is the enormous amount of stress that accompanies adulthood. I suppose it really is a sort of trap. The stress, the responsibility, the work.

And this morning, I started thinking about stress. There is so much going on – world events, new challenges at work and financial hiccoughs – that I started to feel overwhelmed. And then I reminded myself that this is a short period of time. That I’ve been through periods of great stress before and this too will pass. I chose to think positively and focus on all the good that surrounds me. I took a moment, holding my coffee and looking around my little nest and I told myself, look at how lucky you are.

And I want to share the message today. We are all facing challenges in life, whether great or small, and it is important to maintain perspective. You are allowed to feel down, to have dark days, and to be upset. But the important thing is to remember your goals, remember where you started, and to look to brighter days.

Leave a Reply

