sashamebabyshowerwatermark

Dear Sasha,

I’m writing this as you are nearing the end of your first pregnancy, but I’ve been thinking about it since the night you showed me photographic proof of that positive test. The truth is, I’ve kind of procrastinated writing this letter. I kept changing my mind. Should I fill it with advice? No. What about tips and tricks of the trade? No. Should I tell you all of the things that will change or all of the things you will gain? No. You know all of that. You’ve seen your sister raise beautiful babies and you’ve heard all of my horror stories. You’ve seen the Pinterest boards and the mommy forums. You know what you’re doing, and you will be an amazing mother.

You don’t need me.

Through these long months of being pregnant, seeing the changes in your body and all that comes with growing a baby. You don’t need me, but I’m here.

When you feel that first contraction or your water breaks. You and Jack will be so excited, nervous, and in a big rush to meet your little man! And you won’t need me, but I’ll be here.

When you are sitting at home holding your newborn for, what is it, 39 hours straight? Dropping toast crumbs in his fine hair while you both eat. You won’t need me, but I’ll be here.

The first time you want to go out without your baby. Or with him. The mall? Yoga? Coffee? Anything. You won’t need me, but I’ll be here.

And when you have to cut cake for ‘first birthday party’ guests, I’ll try to take photos of any cute moments that happen. You won’t need me, but I’ll be there.

When I had my baby, I was so glad and grateful to have you there by my side. What I’m trying to say is, everything you did, and everything you were for me when I was going through this whirlwind of being a new mom..I will give it all back to you. Love. Acceptance. Stretchy clothes. Hugs. Space, when you need it. And when you surface out from under the pile of diapers and dirty clothes I’ll still be here.

You are going to be great, you don’t need anyone or anything to tell you that.

And I can’t wait to be there to see it.

💙 B

2 thoughts on “A Letter to my Best Friend: Before You Have Your Baby

    1. Aww thanks! :) Speaking of friends – I was thinking about having you write a guest post for my site and/or vice versa!? Let me know & we can start brainstorming! <3

      Like

Leave a Reply

