So long, Mr Harper.

I’ve been eligible to vote for the last six years.

I never have.

And I’ve been pressured. Coerced. Given the ‘you can’t complain about anything’ speech.

But the funny thing about my right to vote is also my right to choose not to. I had strong convictions about many things throughout my life and never has politics been one of them. In fact, I’m not sure which I liked learning about less in school – history or politics. Bleh.

But now, I’m not a student with a disinterest and point to make.

I’m a mom. I’m a nurse. I am the daughter of a soon-to-be retired veteran. I’m an ‘army wife’.

I am, now, a voter.

& I would like to say –

So long, Mr Harper.

Leave a Reply

