10 Worst Things About Being a Casual Nurse

1] 6AM PHONE CALLS ON YOUR DAY OFF
but it’s okay, you should get up and, you know, get things done.

2] THE ‘YOU-SAID-NO-TO-A-SHIFT’ GUILT
oh man, I already made plans today, sorry I can’t come in.. *2hrs later* ..but should I have cancelled those?

3] CANCELLING PLANS OR RESCHEDULING APPOINTMENTS SO YOU CAN TAKE A SHIFT
to avoid the guilt.

4] WHEN YOU ARE ASKED TO WORK A SHIFT, BUT YOU’RE ALREADY WORKING
damn it! I wanted to work that day shift but I’m working the night already!

5] WORKING TOO MANY SHIFTS IN A WEEK OR IN A ROW
10oz coffee STAT PRN for sheer exhaustion.

6] NOT WORKING ENOUGH SHIFTS
*twiddling thumbs sitting beside the phone* I wonder if staffing would be mad if I sent an eighth email..

7] TRYING TO MAKE SURE YOUR SCRUBS ARE ALWAYS CLEAN
when was the last time I wore my lucky scrub pants, are they still in the laundry room?

8] HAVING GREAT PATIENTS FOR ONE SHIFT AND THEN NEVER SEEING THEM AGAIN
what’s a ‘therapeutic relationship’, again?

9] WORKING ALMOST EVERY WEEKEND
wait…what’s this thing called a ‘weekend’?

10] KNOWING THAT WHILE YOU MIGHT DAYDREAM ABOUT A ROTATION OR VACATION OR EVEN SICK DAYS –  YOU WOULDN’T HAVE IT ANY OTHER WAY
there are pros and cons to any job situation and while I make light of this, being a nurse really is the best job in the world! #justanurse

First day of casual work, 2013
First day of casual work, 2013
Temp job, 2014
Temp job, 2014
RN love <3
RN love <3
Leave a Reply

