Why Your Facebook Status Shouldn’t Say, ‘Just used my boobs to get out of a ticket.’

Disclaimer: to all those who have already succumb to the ‘awareness antics’ online, please don’t feel like I’m judging you! This post is an effort to elevate the conversation a little bit, not to judge others.

Three times in the last week I’ve gotten the following, or something similar, in my inbox..

“You should not have liked or commented on my post, because now you have to pick from one of these below and post it as your status. This is the 2015 Breast Cancer Awareness game. Don’t be a spoil sport. 

Pick your poison from one of these and change your status:

1. Diarrhea again? 

2. Just used my boobs to get out of a speeding ticket. 

3. How do you get rid of foot fungus? 

4. No toilet paper, goodbye socks. 

5. I think I’m in love with someone? 

6. I’ve decided to stop wearing underwear. 

7. It’s confirmed – I’m going to be a mommy/daddy. 

8. I just won $900 on a scratch card. 

9. I’m getting married. 

Post with no explanations. Sorry I fell for it too. 

(Don’t let the secret out either) 

And remember it’s the 2015 Breast Cancer Awareness.”

And I’ve seen the various statuses. I’ve giggled at a few, and the ensuing comments. But then tonight I was reading through the options, pondering which one I’d be brave enough to actually post. And I got to the one about using one’s boobs to get out of a ticket. And it got me thinking..

Brave? How brave would I feel if I posted that status, “I used my boobs to get out of a speeding ticket” and my late Nanny Barb read it. Or my late Aunt Dot. What about a woman who just underwent a mastectomy? Is this really how I want to be seen ‘raising awareness’? Making a joke about breasts when women around the world must literally have them cut off of their bodies in an effort to save their lives.

No, I’m not brave. They are.

  
So, go ahead with your silly status on Facebook. But when you’re done, could you also share THIS PAGE or one similar?

Donate if you can, participate in a relay if you’re able, or just share with the world that you are taking a second to pass along knowledge, information, and awareness from a reputable source.

Ladies, please do monthly, self breast exams. And accept any and all screening that is available to you.

  

3 thoughts on “Why Your Facebook Status Shouldn’t Say, ‘Just used my boobs to get out of a ticket.’

  1. Love this. Never really sure how the other way created awareness anyways since you had to comment to find out what it is about. If it’s all hush hush how is it letting everyone know. I have done the status thing before but after thinking about it, I just thought it was silly. I only got a couple likes or comments which means only a couple people were reached. I’d rather go your route. post a link, or maybe even change my profile picture, something more straight forward.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

