Dear Mom [a WordPress daily prompt]

Dear Mom,

Thank you, and I’m proud of you.

When you fell in love with my Dad and defied societal ideals and your parents’ wishes, thank you and I’m proud of you.

When you decided to get married and then decided to have a baby, despite all of the obstacles (financially or otherwise), thank you and I’m proud of you.

When you continued to stay healthy and did everything in your power to keep me safe while I grew in your belly, even through the loss of your mother – your hero – thank you and I’m proud of you.

When you went through a painful and traumatic induction, labour, and stat c-section..well I have seen how scary that is now. Thank you and I’m proud of you.

When you spent the first 13 years of my life being a stay-at-home mom, and 2+ of those years alone, thank you and I’m proud of you.

When you (and dad), now married for 26 years, showed me what it means to be in love and handle the ups and downs of married life – thank you and I’m proud of you.

When you sat with me while I told you I want you to be healthy and that I want you to do anything in your power to stay on this earth longer than your mom..your sister.. You listened. And you made a change. A little-by-little change that is already impacting your health and quality of life. Thank you and I’m proud of you.

Finally, when you look at me with my daughter and you tell me that I’m doing a good job.. It’s because of you. It’s because all this time that I’ve been growing up and learning what life is all about and finding my way I have had you as my lighthouse. Guiding this birdy, always, and showing me the way.

If you are ever frustrated with me, are annoyed, or if you ever just forget.. Just think of this letter, and know that I’m always thankful for you. And proud of you.

Love, Barb

  
Dear Mom – A WordPress Daily Prompt

2 thoughts on “Dear Mom [a WordPress daily prompt]

  1. Powerful letter – hope you mailed it, with a stamp – she’d love that even more than the words and the meaning behind it. Because of our moms, we are who we are. Have a wonderful week.

    Like

Leave a Reply

